Melancholy Re-Imagined

Instagram is undoubtably on of my latest fascinations. I find myself researching profiles and scrolling down on countless accounts daily, looking for fresh and interesting pages that might or might not give me some new ideas and presumably some inspiration.

Recently, I bumped into a new account and was captivated by the beautiful simplicity and sense of melancholy conveyed by each photo. The Account Holder is Julie (@joouuuls) / She is a 23 year-old woman, currently doing her MA in Literature in Paris!

Lets talk photography

Screen Shot 2016-03-30 at 16.00.50  Screen Shot 2016-03-30 at 16.01.08

I am still not sure whether it because I find Paris so alluring, or simply because of Julie’s  great eye for photography, but I find every single image that she posts to be very intriguing.

There is some sort of aesthetic satisfaction that I get from her images. Her page consists of mostly landscapes, city images, photos of houses / buildings and occasionally some very simplistic and often comic shots that spice up her account page and give it a little bit of  edge.

Julie has never thought of doing photography professionally, she simply uses her iPhone5 to take pictures, whenever she sees something interesting that grabs her attention – and that is probably why her images look so effortlessly beautiful.

Screen Shot 2016-03-30 at 16.01.38 Screen Shot 2016-03-30 at 16.02.15

I believe that what makes me so ‘obsessed’ -lets say- with her page is the melancholic feel that her photos convey. Even the colourful ones, even the more comic ones. The general sense of each photo – and also of her page as a whole – is somehow melancholic.

Melancholic, but not sad – maybe a bit nostalgic –
Screen Shot 2016-03-30 at 16.02.44

She makes me believe in the scary imaginative possibilities of photography

Profoundly beautiful yet mysterious, her pictures are an outburst of creativity & potential. Scrolling down her Instagram, I can’t help myself from letting my imagination free and visualise the most random narratives that help my mind fly free and travel places.

Take a look at her great use of shapes / forms and mostly angles
Screen Shot 2016-03-30 at 16.01.59

Screen Shot 2016-03-30 at 16.03.31

Self Portraits  – her originality is obvious –
Screen Shot 2016-03-30 at 16.02.28

Screen Shot 2016-03-30 at 16.02.06

Julie manages to capture the beauty of her city through very simple photographs. I don’t know if its because she finds the perfect angles for the shots or her way of capturing the perfect light, but she makes each picture surprisingly creative. Whether its black or white, dark or light, sunny or cloudy, her images makes you travel places.

Hectic yet serene, hard yet soft, disturbing yet beautiful. I get surrealistic feel from Julie’s images, although it seems like the images are not necessarily consciously created for that purpose.

Screen Shot 2016-03-30 at 16.03.07

one

Although we are talking about photography, there is a clear distance born between her and her objects, a separation from reality that travels you to this parallel dreamy ‘truth’.

Maybe that is the actual point of photography, making something realistic more ‘dreamy’
–  Capturing a perceived separate reality and removing it from its original context to later on contextualising in, on your own personal way  –

Screen Shot 2016-03-30 at 16.05.42

Hope you love her profile as much as I do

Joulie LC
@joouuuls
https://www.instagram.com/joouuuls/

Thank you for reading,
x
Elli

4 comments

Leave a comment